Thai Sojourn at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

On my second day of internship, I was sent to a Thai food event at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Food again. And this time, I was surrounded by bloggers. Or rather, the table I was at was where bloggers sat, while traditional media sat at the other long table nearby. And the event was one heck of a foodie paradise.

Which leads me to my question that I asked myself constantly today, while sitting with these people, eating Thai food and listening to their conversations (as they were all friends with one another, talking of inside jokes and things I had no idea about; i.e. travelling in and around Southeast Asia and the world).

Is this the life of a blogger in Cebu? Or any other media/press personnel? All the time? Is it? Events and free food and gift bags? Because, yes, I got another gift bag today, and this time, it was from Marco Polo.

Anyhow, as events go, I rather enjoyed myself, looking forward to the food being served, while also being absolutely nervous and anxious about the whole thing, having this sense of being out of place and not belonging. Because truth be told, I was doubting my capabilities, feeling like a completely huge liar and a poser.

But really, the food was amazing and absolutely fresh. Quality ingredients were definitely used to make the dishes and the flavours were all a great blend, perfectly balancing things out. Definitely great Thai food offered.

Anyhow, next week will bring a whole new level of challenges. Let’s see how it goes then.

Leave a Reply

