Evolution of My Music Taste

I remember a time when the music I listened to was mainly from Pop artists — Britney Spears, Backstreet Boys, Spice Girls, and the like. I was probably around the age of 7-8 back then and I thought I was so cool.

Specifically, one of my two favourite songs were Spice Girl’s 2 Become 1 and Britney Spear’s Lucky:

2 Become 1 by Spice Girls

and

Lucky by Britney Spears

The song Lucky is pretty harmless, as Spears sings of her loneliness. However, now that I’m older, I now know the meaning of 2 Become 1, which is quite shocking to know of since I sang it quite often as a child (go read the meaning here).

Anyhow, around the time I was 9 years old, I started to listen to R&B music, enjoying the smoothness of the music. And again, I didn’t realize the meaning of most of the songs that I listened to, which I now most certainly do.

Nowadays, I listen to all sorts of music genres. But it really all depends on the mood.

Below are two songs that I enjoy putting on repeat due to their meanings.

Battleships by Daughtry

and

Can’t Stop by OneRepublic

Eh, this post felt very all over the place.

Yup.

Leave a Reply

