Fanaticism

There is one thing very common in our society today. Well, actually, there are many things I could mention here, like material obsession, self preservation, and being highly critical of everything so that nothing is ever satisfying. But right now, I am specifically zeroing in on crazy-zealous-fanaticism-and-adoration-towards-objects-supposedly-superior.

In general, this isn’t entirely a very dire issue. Maybe. I don’t know. Who knows. Depends on who’s talking, I guess. But back to the point.

Admiring something or someone passively isn’t a total no-no. In fact, it is quite common and traces of this human behaviour can be observed throughout history. You may say, “Oh, what a load of bull!” But I say, “Yes, yes, mon chers!” I’ll justify this theory of mine, if only you would read on.

Were it not for this admiration of individuals (deceased or otherwise), inspirees would never find inspiration for their creative minds. I take Beethoven as an example here. As I’ve read and heard, Mozart influenced Beethoven’s work a great deal, as it is said that some of his compositions were modeled after his inspirer’s work. Were it not for this human tendency to admire and be inspired, Beethoven would not be the Beethoven we know of today.

Another example I’d like to point out would be the musical The Sound Of Music, which was based off of the life of the von Trapp family. If it weren’t for admiration of this family’s feat, we would never have this classically beloved tale in the repertoire of many musical theatres the world over. And especially that wonderful film that starred Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, and those kids (who are definitely now older than way back when). The original Broadway adaptation won a Tony Award for Best Musical in 1960 and the film adaptation took 5 Oscar wins in 1965.

And, finally, we wouldn’t have Tom Hiddleston as he is if it weren’t for his admiration of Shakespeare. Am I right, or am I right?

I could definitely go on praising human admiration and its fruits, but that would be ignoring the terrible, terrible effects it also has on the human populace.

Nowadays, there are many celebrities to admire. Some are admired rightly so, while I (I clearly state me, myself, and I here, just because this is my point of view on this) question the “admirable” factors of some (I shall name no names). Some members of normal society — who-do-not-belong-among-the-higher-echelons-of-celebrity-stardom-society — admire whoever they wish passively, while some go borderline obsessed. Some even become aggressive if their beloved celebrity-idol-person is dissed by someone else. Even a small remark about expressing someone’s passing negative opinion on the idol’s song (or other bodies of work) could get someone beaten up — in the comments section of YouTube, of course.

Is this obsession for sometimes undesirable people in our current and upcoming generations healthy? Certainly not. But do most people belong in some sort of fan group anyway? Most likely.

Think of it. If not a celebrity, maybe a TV show. Or a fictitious character. Or author. Or director. Or band. Or movie series. Or…or…whatever else there is.

I certainly am guilty of this. But not to such a degree that I’d commit internet murder.

If it really isn’t the case for you, whoever you are, congratulations! Or parabéns! Or ¡felicidades! Or pagpahalipay! Or 恭喜! Or whatever else there is to say what I said.

This probably just stems from the fact that most people have this intrinsic need to belong and being part of an established fan group just feeds on that need.

But really, some people just need to tame it down.

Ack…maybe I’m just judging too harshly.

Live and let live, right?

Leave a Reply

